Tech Talks Today

Bitwarden, The Story Of A Password Manager

The Password You Entered Does Not Meet The Minimum Security Requirements

Alexandru Teodorovici
3 min readJan 3, 2022
Bitwarden Logo

Every so often, or, more precisely, ever so rare, you stumble upon a tool that helps you improve your digital life. Memory isn’t what it used to be, or maybe it is even better than before, but no one in their right mind would memorize hundreds of logins and passwords, security codes, and recovery phrases just because life is boring.

Every other day you hear about a security breach somewhere, and you start to think, or at least, it should raise some questions. Is my password secure enough? When did I last change it? Do I use MFA? Am I keeping as safe as possible so that my accounts are not breached?

A password manager can’t do that for you, no matter how good it is, but it can help you store and keep track of password updates and history.

Okay, why Bitwarden? A few reasons I’ve come to like.

Open-Source

I’ve talked a bit about open source applications before and why I prefer them. You can read more about that here if you want to find out more:

In other words, here is the actual GitHub page for Bitwarden, if you want to dig deeper. Click it!

It is not the single password manager I use, as Bitwarden is rather new. My main tool for storing passwords before Bitwarden was Keepass, which, I still use in some circumstances. In itself is a great instrument, but there are some downsides to it, at least for me.

Yes is the answer, if you were wondering if your stored data is encrypted.

Self-Hosting

One of the coolest features of Bitwarden is that you can self host your own. I was using their cloud service until I found out you can host it on your server.

Yes, please! I would probably lie if I said it took me more than 1 hour, tops. Now, I can use my hardware, from my home to store important data. No outside access, no outside eyes, no nothing. Encrypted, isolated, and low-key.

Whatever you can do in their cloud environment, you can do in the self-hosted app. Come to think of it, that’s a lie, I just remembered that you have total control of it, all the ins and ends. That’s what usually happens when you set it up once and don’t touch it for a long time after that.

Cross-Platform

From PC to mobile, to browser, and forward again to a laptop. The most popular operating systems, browsers, and mobile devices are supported by Bitwarden.

Yes, that is important. In an ever-moving, ever-connected world, keeping your data close and secure is more valuable than ever.

Ease-of-use

The main thing I like, besides the fact that it’s secure, is that it’s a no thrills, no-frills experience. Simple, clean, concise, without any bells and whistles.

No matter how good something is, especially a digital app, if the experience of using it is not a pleasure, it tends to become a hassle. Slowly and surely, you subconsciously search for other, better tools that satisfy your needs.

Quit Reading This Article And Give It A Try!

The truth is, I don’t have to write a 100-page essay on how and why you should use a password manager. I find it pretty self-explanatory.

These are just some of the reasons I find a tool like this useful, Bitwarden in this particular case. I’m trying to push just a bit in the right direction — a safer, more secure, easier-to-use digital environment.

The rest is up to you! How many passwords do you have to remember?

--

--